Dads-poem

by Samuel De Lemos

When you become a father
everything changes;
priorities, time management,
the distribution of finances.

There were many times were
buying diapers outweighed golfing.
let me think…
milk or beer?
I brought home milk instead.
Changing diapers,
sleepless nights,
sharing a bed with mom.

The hardest is trying to
have adult conversations
and being interrupted
with, “I need to pee.”

“Are we there yet.”
cleaning up throw up,
building bunk beds,
helping with homework.
Adult themed movies
or
The Incredibles?

How many times do I
have to watch this movie?
I just kept it inside
and memorized the lines.

Being a father makes you
a better version of oneself
and I haven’t even gotten
to the teen years.

“I love you dad.”
a sweet kiss and a hug
it makes it all worthwhile.

