Camping-poem

by Samuel De Lemos

We are messy campers

Our campground isn’t littered.

It’s just that everyone around me

except one neighbor have new rigs,

new trucks, large and expensive toys.

I have a 70’s pop up that I love.

It’s constantly needing attention.

Yesterday, I sewed the netting.

The door doesn’t close right.

The color is faded.

My daughter’s boyfriend Nic

Said, “it was camping swag.”

Like me, he loves it.

My neighbor has

a 70’s camper too.

When I saw his, I loved it.

I told her, “your camper’s cool.”

I finally got the the door fixed.

That got Nic -oohing-

I improved my camping experience

by a margin of twenty.

Even my wife said with a smile and hug,

“I’ll give you a little treat.”

I bet my neighbors don’t get that

kind of attention,

all their toys work fine.

