Untitled #4

by Samuel De Lemos

I’m a post-modern poet
I inhabit diversity.
My life is a climax of change.
A walking paradox–
breathing,
sensing perplexity,
acuity,
differentiability.
 I’m Jewish again
even-though I’m Hispanic now.
I’m Hispanic now
even-though I’m a little Mayan then.
I’m Mayan then
even-though I’m American today.
I’m American today
even-though I lived in Japan once before.
what am I?
The result of more than one cultural melting pot;
I speak Epanyiol, English, and Ivrit
I’m a modernist who loves the higher end of art,
reading philosophy,
dabble in photography,
I write about Ecclesiastes–
regional jazz is where its at.
What makes me postmodern?
I believe in diversity;
hyper-skeptical,
deplore the grand narrative.
I embrace convivencia and that’s saying a lot.
