Oklahoma Rain

by Samuel De Lemos

The overhead clouds
look heavy it’s
as if they had
massive lead
weights, weighing
them down.

Ominously dark
and
laden with
rain,

One moment the
horizon is clear,
the sun
shining lovingly
bright,

the next time I
glance, massive
black clouds are
steam-rolling
heading
my way.

The heavens
are dragging
themselves over
the earth
like a
drunkard after
an alcoholic
binge.

The theatrics
begins
with a slow
pitter-patter
of tiny droplets
while, the smell of
precipitation
permeates the
pregnant moist air.

Suddenly, the
floodgates
are opened with
thunder and lighting,
snapping and sizzling,
announcing the
mighty deluge.

There’s no escaping
the inevitable,
while cloudburst
eruptions
proclaim the
apocalyptical.

I’m blinded by
the sunless
downpour;
frightened,
I’ve never seen
the force of
nature so
dramatic before.

All I see is
torrents,
and like
the story of Noah,
there’s nowhere
I can run to,
Nowhere I can hide.

All I can do is lower
my head and quietly
ask God for forgiveness
and a little respite.

