Habdaláh

by Samuel De Lemos

20130707-172101.jpg

During Habdaláh
we gather around
the twisted candle.

My children cry out,
“Can I hold the candle?”
“Can I do the spices?”

Their enthusiasm for
this weekly event is
wonderful.

I light the wick
that drips
like solemn
tear drops.

It’s twilight and
time to say
goodbye
to our
sanctified rest.

Sabbath helps
restore
the light of God
in
all our lives.

As the flame burns
and the blessings
are recited,

I look around-

I can see
the flickering
of the candle’s light

in my children’s
dark almond eyes.

I lift the cup
of wine and
say the
beracha
over
the fruit
of the vine.

Next is the
spices,

we pass
the saffron
it reminds
us

of our
extended
stay in
Spain.

We all take
strong whiffs
of the delicious
besamim.

when I say the
beracha over
the fire,

we stare at
it’s dancing
flame,

it’s
warmth is felt
on our
skin.

the final
blessing
is said out loud,

hamachdil ben
qodesh
l’chol.

We end the
festivities
with embraces
and the usual,

buenas semanas,
shebuah tob!

