Ponder

by Samuel De Lemos

20130521-233515.jpg

Back in the day when I
lived in Krum,
I had a shop
by the University.
I had my
miles mapped out
perfectly.

I’d take the
back roads on
my bike-it was
exactly 9.4
miles both ways.

At first, it
was hard
getting on
that saddle,
peddling,
trying to keep
my mind off
the distance.

I fought through
the pain and
monotony
of cycling.

Concentrating
instead on the
incredible
vistas.

After some time
the hard work
started
to show.

Peddling
10 miles wasn’t
the same anymore.

I started to expand
my horizons,
on my way to work-
I’d sidetrack to
Ponder.

Past the bison
and wide open spaces.
Past the strong Texas
wind, that gave more
resistance.

Before I knew it,
I’d put some dug-gum
miles on my bike.

Gone were those
irascible
mental quarrels,
I had with
myself.

Gone were 40 pounds.
Left on the pavement-
somewhere
between Ponder
and Krum.

There’s something that
cycling taught me, in fact-
great metaphors for
life can be extracted…

Life is certainly painful.
Yet, the journey can be gainful:

If we don’t open up
our eyes to see
what’s around us,
we miss the beauty
that surrounds us.

And, when life seems
overwhelming, get back
there and try again.
Concentrating on the beauty
rather than the agony.

When done just right!
lost is the excess baggage
that weighs us down-
to be replaced by an urge
to reach grander heights.

