Cherries

by Samuel De Lemos

20130427-131446.jpg

When I was but a lad-
my brother once said,
“Have you ever had ripe
Delicious cherries straight
off a tree?”

I know an orchard by the road.
The cherries there-they’re like gold.
Plump, juicy and deliciously round.
“They must be worth ten dollars
a pound”

I’m going there with some friends.
If you want to taste the best cherries
In town-
then come with us and I’ll show you how
They are found.

Off we went all three of us boys, to munch
On cherries a few blocks near our house.

We got to the orchard surrounded by a fence.
In order to get to the best ones we had to jump
over and run our very best. my brother warned, “if
someone approached- we best run like hell, because we
We were trespassing on someone’s private property”

I nodded yes and off we went- to the nearest tree
climed it and got to the top. The cherries were so
Juicy and sweet- just like my brother had previously said.

When we were finally gorged
one of us spotted a
man running at us-full bore.
In between the shouts of, “get out!”
I jumped from the top, landed
and began to run as fast as I could.

The fence was a good
hundred yards from
Where I was. I never ran
so fast in my life…
One by one-
We hopped over the barrier out
out of breath “happy I made it”
we all nervously, said.

at the time it wasn’t funny-
because we feared for our lives!
But now that I’m older I think back
At my little adventure
and grin at my childhood memories.

